Let’s Talk About it

I have a friend that is going to boycott any team that signs Colin Kaepernick (I have no idea if this last name spelling is correct and I’m not about to look up the correct spelling because I could not care less). My friend is an idiot. He’s so stupid, I almost regret knowing him.

Let me make one thing very clear, I DO NOT WANT THIS TO GET POLITICAL. The things I hate most in this world are discussing politics and trying to be controversial. I don’t want to be controversial, I just want to be entertaining and talk about sports. So please take this post solely for Kaepernick’s athletic ability (which he has plenty of). That last name is a real bitch to type so I’m just going to refer to him as CK.

CK has been black balled from the NFL and it is a goddamn travesty. The Dolphins are signing Jay “Always Looking in the Sun” Cutler, when CK is a ready and viable option waiting for another opportunity. There’s a handful of teams that need a quarterback and CK would make an excellent addition to all of them. He’s not an elite QB but he has a lot of upside potential, and in complete honesty, I think he’s going to be better now than ever just because now he has something to prove after the whole debacle of last season. This man wants to show the world he can play ball. He just needs someone to give him a fucking chance.

What do you all think, should Ck get another chance? Is the treatment he receiving fair? What team should take him? Please share your opinion. Let’s have a discussion and please don’t dicks about this.

8 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About it”

  1. I don’t understand the entire situation or what part of the national anthem he’s morally opposed to. However, I do think patriotism is important. There are a lot of things wrong with America, but in my opinion it’s still the best country on earth. Not many people get the opportunity to earn millions of dollars playing a sport in front of thousands of adoring fans. His unwillingness to show respect for the flag has been viewed as a slap in the face to those who have paid $150 (or more) for a ticket to watch him play.

    Is his athletic ability more important than respect for our country? If we condone this are we telling our children that it’s okay? Where are we placing on values?

    I don’t condemn him, but neither will I condone his actions. He has a right to do so, and by the same token, the owners have a right to shun him.

    1. Thank you for sharing this. I was hoping someone would take this particular stance and I greatly appreciate you taking the time to write this. Your points are absolutely valid, and if any team wants to realistically consider him as an option, they should keep his, let’s say, “off field conduct into consideration.”

      1. He’s at a point where he will have to consider if making a political statement is more important than a lucrative career. The line has been drawn in the sand. If he wants to play in the NFL he’s going to have to publicly apologize to the fans. We are a forgiving nation. The ball is in his hands. Let’s see what he does with it.

      2. To jump into the conversation, this was why he didn’t stand: “I am not going to stand up to show pride in a flag for a country that oppresses black people and people of color,” Kaepernick told NFL Media in an exclusive interview after the game. “To me, this is bigger than football and it would be selfish on my part to look the other way. There are bodies in the street and people getting paid leave and getting away with murder.” Link: http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap3000000691077/article/colin-kaepernick-explains-why-he-sat-during-national-anthem

  2. Also, for the record, I too think it’s a travesty that nobody has signed Kap. He kneels during “The Star-Spangled Banner” and is considered a “distraction.” Other people get arrested, go to jail, fail drug tests, etc. and are not considered distractions. Huh? Also, fun fact: Kap’s stats are in many ways better than Cam Newton’s! Also, here’s the blog post I wrote on the topic: https://blindinjusticeblog.wordpress.com/2017/08/08/addressing-colin-kaepernick/

Leave a Reply

